About Us

Our Vision

To be positioned as the premier organization that promotes the well-being of and ensures a satisfying and productive life for children and adults with intellectual, cognitive, and related developmental disabilities.

Our Mission

We support people with developmental disabilities
at all stages of life to reach their full potential.

Core Values

People

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley believes that all people with intellectual and developmental disabilities have strengths, abilities, and inherent value; are equal before the law; and must be treated with dignity and respect, regardless of the level of their disability.

Democracy

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley is an organization of, by and for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families. Our policy decisions are made by informed voting members, organized into affiliated state and local chapters.

Diversity

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley seeks and supports diverse leadership and membership. Our concept of diversity includes but is not limited to race, ethnicity, religion, age, socio-economic status, geographic location, sexual orientation, gender, family status and type and level of disability.

Visionary Leadership

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley values new ideas, innovation and inspired leadership. We seek constantly to improve our focus, knowledge and effectiveness.

Community Participation

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley works toward ensuring that all people have the fundamental moral, civil and constitutional rights and opportunities to live, learn, work, play and worship in communities of their choosing.

Integrity & Excellence

Members and leaders of The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley promote our mission, core values and position statements with integrity and accountability. We conduct our business according to the highest ethical standards.

Service Area

Our service area varies depending on the program and funding source, but we primarily serve a 10-county region for the majority of programs, with the entire state of West Virginia receiving services for others.

Board of Directors

Dan Stemple
President

Angie Harkness
Past President

Jonelle Merritt
Vice President

Darla Hall
Secretary

Marvin Boyce
Treasurer

Debbie Douglass
Liz Ford
Ann Greer
Doug Lockhart
Anne McFee
Eric Little
Judy Sutton
Tina Tanner
Tammy White

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley needs skilled, committed volunteers to provide leadership through involvement on the Board of Directors.


Our board represents a cross-section of our community and has a passion for our organization and those we serve. The members work hard to ensure long-term sustainability of the organization and oversee that the funds raised directly affect those in need.

What does a board member do?
Board members are responsible for setting the direction of The Arc, monitoring the services that are provided to assure quality, and developing policies to guide the agency. Board members are also encouraged to contribute to The Arc and to encourage others to contribute their tie, talents, funds or other resources.

How much time does it require?
Currently, board meetings are held five times a year. The meetings begin at 6:00 and meetings are generally over by 7:00 PM. An annual planning session is held each August, and an annual meeting open to all members of The Arc is held each year. Beyond that, your level of involvement is up to you.

Join The Arc. . .
All members of the Board of Directors are required to be members of The Arc. The annual membership fee is $25.

About The Arc . . .
The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley is a private, non-profit corporation that has been serving the citizens of Wood and surrounding counties since the early 1950’s. The Arc’s mission is to improve the lives of citizens with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families and to reduce the incidence and lessen the effects of intellectual disabilities.

Am I liable for actions of the board or agency?
West Virginia law protects board members who act in good faith. If you attend meeting, participate actively and do your best to make good decisions, you are not personally liable. The Arc has Officers and Directors Liability Insurance through the West Virginia Board of Risk Management.

Staff Listing

The Arc of the Mid Ohio Valley

Michelle Curtis

Doug Hess

Chief Operating Manager
doug.hess@thearcmov.org

Jacqueline Sturm

Alexis Ullmann

Program and Activities Coordinator – People First State Advisor
alexis.ullmann@thearcmov.org

Becky Farnsworth

NCOA Administrative Assistant
becky.farnsworth@thearcmov.org

Morgan Spicer

Self-Advocate Coordinator / Fingerprint Tech
morgan.spicer@thearcmov.org

People First Café

Jeff Miles

People First Café Manager
jeff.miles@thearcmov.org

Charles Buckley

People First Café Cook
charles.buckley@thearcmov.org

The Arc Thrift Shops

Augusta Cox

Thrift Shop Manager
augusta.cox@thearcmov.org

Michelle Delaney

Thrift Shop Assistant Manager
michelle.delaney@thearcmov.org

Ari Mayle

Thrift Shop Clerk
ari.mayle@thearcmov.org

Jonathan McKitrick

Tanya Jackson

Thrift Shop Clerk
tanya.jackson@thearcmov.org

Misty Farnsworth

WV Birth To Three Regional Administration Unit – Region II

Administration Office – Wood County

Jennifer Chase

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Regional Coordinator
jennifer.chase@thearcmov.org

Micah Kirk

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Interim Service Coordinator
micah.kirk@thearcmov.org

Sheila Dayton

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Interim Service Coordinator
sheila.dayton@thearcmov.org

Melissa Alderman

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Parent Partner
melissa.alderman@thearcmov.org

Rachel Cornell

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Data Entry Specialist
rachel.cornell@thearcmov.org

Debbie Poole

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 File Clerk
debbie.poole@thearcmov.org

Satellite – Harrison County

Shauna Jarrell

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Interim Service Coordinator
shauna.jarrell@thearcmov.org

Sheena Farrah

WV Birth to Three RAU 2 Interim Service Coordinator
sheena.farrah@thearcmov.org

Satellite – Gilmer County

Pam Butcher

Interim Service Coordinator
pam.butcher@thearcmov.org